« All News

‘The Post’ Named Best Film, Greta Gerwig Gets Best Director: 2017 National Board of Review Winners

Written by on November 28, 2017 


The National Board of Review announced their 2017 winners with Steven Spielberg’s The Post taking not only the top prize of Best Film, but Tom Hanks and Meryl Streep also earned top acting awards. Greta Gerwig won Best Director for Lady Bird, while her star Laurie Metcalf earned Best Supporting Actress and Willem Dafoe, who led another A24 title, The Florida Project, earned Best Supporting Actor.

Check out the full list of winners below, along with last night’s Gotham Award winners.

2017 National Board of Review Winners

Best Film: The Post
Best Director: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
Best Actor: Tom Hanks, The Post
Best Actress: Meryl Streep, The Post
Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Best Original Screenplay: Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread
Best Adapted Screenplay: Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Disaster Artist
Best Animated Feature: Coco
Breakthrough Performance: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Best Directorial Debut: Jordan Peele, Get Out
Best Foreign Language Film: Foxtrot
Best Documentary: Jane
Best Ensemble: Get Out
Spotlight Award: Patty Jenkins and Gal Gadot (Wonder Woman)
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: First They Killed My Father and Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992

Top Films
Baby Driver
Call Me By Your Name
The Disaster Artist
The Florida Project
Get Out
Lady Bird
Phantom Thread

Top 5 Foreign Language Films
A Fantastic Woman
Summer 1994
The Square

Top 5 Documentaries
Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
Brimstone & Glory
Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars
Faces Places
Hell on Earth: The Fall of Syria and the Rise of Isis

Top 10 Independent Films
Beatriz at Dinner
Brigsby Bear
A Ghost Story
Lady Macbeth
Logan Lucky
Loving Vincent
Norman: The Rise and Tragic Fall of a New York Fixer
Patti Cake$
Wind River

2017 IFP Gotham Award Winners

Best Feature
Call Me by Your Name
Luca Guadagnino, director; Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Documentary
Strong Island
Yance Ford, director; Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Netflix)

Best Director
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Actor
James Franco in The Disaster Artist (A24)

Best Actress
Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird (A24)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Jordan Peele for Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Audience Award
Get Out

Breakthrough Actor
Timothée Chalamet in Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Screenplay
Get Out, Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures)

The 2017 Best Actor/Best Actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance to Mudbound, The award went to actors Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan and Jonathan Banks.

See More: , ,

blog comments powered by Disqus

News More

Trailers More

Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow