Headed by Pedro Almodóvar, the 2017 Cannes Film Festival jury — also featuring Maren Ade, Jessica Chastain, Fan Bingbing, Agnès Jaoui, Park Chan-wook, Will Smith, Paolo Sorrentino, and Gabriel Yared — handed out their winners for the films in competition. Leading the pack is Ruben Östlund‘s Force Majeure follow-up The Square, which picked up the Palme d’Or, while Sofia Coppola earned Best Director — the first woman to do so since 1961, when Yuliya Solntseva won for Chronicle of Flaming Years, and only the second in Cannes history. Joaquin Phoenix and Diane Kruger picked up the top acting awards, while Nicole Kidman was given a special prize for the four projects she brought to Cannes.

Ahead of our picks for our favorite films (update: see them here), check out the complete list of winners below, along with other sections, as well as the jury’s discussion of their picks, as well as separate press conferences for each winner in the main section. One can also click the titles for our reviews where available.

Cannes Competition

Palme d’Or: The Square

Grand Prix: 120 Beats Per Minute

Jury Prize: Loveless

70th Anniversary Award: Nicole Kidman

Best Director: Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best Screenplay (tie): Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou for The Killing of a Sacred Deer and Lynne Ramsay for You Were Never Really Here

Camera d’Or (best debut film): Leonor Serraille, Jeune Femme

Short Film Prize: A Gentle Night, Qiu Yang

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Prize: Lerd (Un Homme Integre –  A Man of Integrity), Mohammad Rasoulof

Best Actress: Jasmine Trinca, Fortunata

Best Poetic Narrative: Barbara, Mathieu Amalric

Best Director: Taylor Sheridan, Wind River

Jury Prize: April’s Daughter, Michel Franco

Directors Fortnight

Art Cinema Award: The Rider, Chloe Zhao

Europa Cinemas Label Award: A CiambraJonas Carpignano

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Let the Sunshine In and Lover For a Day

Illy Short Film Prize: Back to Genoa City, Benoit Grimalt

International Federation of Film Critics (Fipresci)

Prize in the Official Selection / Competition: 120 Beats Per MinuteRobin Campillo 

Prize in the Official Selection / Un Certain Regard: Closeness (Tesnota), Kantemir Balagov

Prize to a first or second film in the parallel sections, Directors’ Fortnight or La Semaine de la Critique: The Nothing Factory (A fábrica de nada), Pedro Pinho 

See our complete Cannes coverage below.


No more articles