« All News

Listen to a Pair of Unreleased Tracks from Jonny Greenwood’s ‘There Will Be Blood’ Score

Written by on January 18, 2019 

Marking the beginning of an astounding collaboration, Jonny Greenwood’s score for Paul Thomas Anderson’s There Will Be Blood is a stunning achievement, giving a backdrop of uneasiness to the Daniel Day-Lewis-led drama. 12 years later, the score is now available on vinyl worldwide for the first time via Nonesuch. Mastered for vinyl by Graeme Stewart and Christian Wright at Abbey Road Studios and pressed on 140g vinyl at Record Industry in the Netherlands, it also features two previously unreleased tracks “Proven Lands (Intro.)” and “De-Tuned Quartet,” both of which are now streaming online.

“I saw some fairly long sections of the film, read the script, and just wrote loads of music,” said Greenwood when it came to writing the score. “I tried to write to the scenery, and the story rather than specific ‘themes’ for characters. It’s not really the kind of narrative that would suit that. It was all about the underlying menace in the film, the greed, and that against the fucked-up, oppressive religious mood—and this kid in the middle of it all.”

Listen below and check our list of the best scores and soundtracks of 2018, in which Greenwood (and one of his bandmates) make the cut.

There Will Be Blood OST is now available on vinyl.

See More: ,

blog comments powered by Disqus

News More

Trailers More

Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow