This past week, Terrence Malick’s latest film, Knight of Cups, saw its world premiere (our review) and with it came the superb news that it has found a U.S. distributor. Upstart company Broad Green picked up the rights to not only the Christian Bale-led drama, but Malick’s forthcoming Austin-set drama, not to mention their previous pick-up of the long-gestating Voyage of Time. While there’s no word yet when we might see any of the three features, today brings a preview in a form different than the trailer.

Thanks to the film’s press notes, we have the full soundtrack listing, which features a new score by Hanan Townshend. As usual with Malick, there’s also a plethora of other music, ranging from classical pieces by Ludwig van Beethoven and Claude Debussy to frequent collaborator Francesco Lupica to tracks from Burial, Explosions in the Sky, Biosphere, and Thee Oh Sees. Amounting to nearly five hours, check out both the Spotify playlist we created of available music and a full list of the tracks (with a hat tip to The Playlist), as well highlights from the Berlin press conference.

“The Pilgrim’s Progress” – Ralph Vaughan Williams, Performed by Sir John Gielgud, City Of London Sinfonia
“Spiraling 5th” – Hanan Townshend
“Exodus” – Wojciech Kilar, Performed By Krakow Philharmonic Chorus and Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
“Sogno Di Un Automobile” – Arsenije Jovanovic
“Searching For A Serene Sphere” – Arsenije Jovanovic
“The Death Of Ase” – Edvard Grieg, Performed by BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
“Symphony No. 4 Los Angeles” – Arvo Part, Performed by Los Angeles Philharmonic
“patashnik” – Biosphere
“In Search Of Galiola” – Arsenije Jovanovic
“Track 1/4 – Poem From Insomnia” – Biosphere
“Substrata” – Biosphere
“The Coconut” – Thee Oh Sees
“Miserere – Arvo Part, Performed By Estonian Philharmonic
“Unisons” – Hanan Townshend
“Fantasy On A Theme Of Thomas Tallis” – Composed by Ralph Vaughan Williams, The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
“I Need Seed” – Thee Oh Sees
“Last Known Surroundings” – Explosions In The Sky
“Cosmic Beam Journey” – Francesco Lupica
“Prophecy Of A Village Kreman” – Arsenije Jovanovic
“Approaching” – Arsenije Jovanovic
“Track 3/4 – Poem From Insomnia” – Biosphere
“Farewell Mix From An Old Fridge Before It Sank In The Sea” – Arsenije Jovanovic
“Man With A Movie Camera” – Biosphere
“Canon and Gigue in D Major” – Johann Pachelbel
“Images”- Claude Debussy, Performed By Lyon National Orchestra
“Concerto Grosso in G Minor, Op. 6, No. 8, ‘Christmas Concerto’ “ – Arcangelo Corelli, Performed by Capella Istropolitana
“Ansonia” – Paul Ngozi and the Ngozi Family
“Nocturne No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 9, No. 2” – Frederic Chopin, Performed by Idril Biret
“Cool Out” – Bosco Delrey
“Symphony No. 9 ‘Choral’ “ – Ludwig van Beethoven, Performed by Nicolaus Esterhazy
“Dilbar Dilbara” – M. Ashraf and Naheed Akhtar
“Nocturnes: Sirenes” – Claude Debussy, Performed by BRT Philharmonic Orchestra
“Salons Song” – Arvo Part, Performed by The Tallin Chamber Orchestra
“Kol Nidrei” – Max Bruch, Performed by National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland
“Distress” – Hanan Townshend
“Hyperborea”- Biosphere
“6 Epigraphes antiques: Pour l’egyptienne” – Claude Debussy, Performed by Lyon National Orchestra
“Solveig’s Song” – Edvard Grieg, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
“Wind Song” – Sleep Good
“Schlitterbahn” – Sleep Good
“Squire Fire” – Steven Orenstein
“Secret Garden”- White Mystery
“Symphony No. 3, Op. 36/Symphony Of Sorrowful Songs” – Hynryk Gorecki, Performed By Polish National Radio Symphony
“Ashtray Wasp” – Burial
“Dawa Gompa”- David Parsons
“The Things I Tell You” – Biosphere
“Water Theme For Harp” – Hanan Townshend
“Water Theme For Woodwinds” – Hanan Townshend
“Ceremony 1” – Klaus Wiese
“Ceremony 3” – Klaus Wiese
“Initiation Psalm One” – Paul Horn
“Snapshot From The Island”- Tabor Szemzo

The Knight of Cups will be released by Broad Green.

No more articles