Her is very much a woman’s picture, unquestionably starting first and foremost with Scarlett Johansson’s disembodied rendition of Samantha — which, for both the gravity afforded to Joaquin Phoenix’s work and weight of its own breadth, could, in time, prove to be one of the greatest voice performances ever heard,” we remarked in our review of Spike Jonze‘s latest film. In an awards race often marked with predictability, it would certainly stir things up if an unconventional performance like this one were to go noticed and we’re off to a good start.

Following a screening at Rome Film Festival, Johansson picked up her first honors of the season, taking a Best Actress award for her voice-only performance as Samantha, the computer operating system that Phoenix’s character falls for. In other awards from the Italian ceremony, Matthew McConaughey took home Best Actor for Dallas Buyers Club, while Alberto Fasulo‘s documentary Tir, following a Bosnian man who becomes a truck driver, was awarded the top prize of Best Film. Check out the full list of winners below, along with a new behind-the-scenes still from Jonze’s film, which opens in limited release next month.


The International Jury, chaired by James Gray and composed of Verónica Chen, Luca Guadagnino, Aleksei Guskov, Noémie Lvovsky, Amir Naderi, and Zhang Yuan, assigned the following awards to the films in competition:

Golden Marc’Aurelio Award for Best Film: Tir by Alberto Fasulo

Best Director AwardKiyoshi Kurosawa for Sebunsu kodo (Seventh Code)

Special Jury PrizeQuod Erat Demonstrandum by Andrei Gruzsniczk

Best Actor AwardMatthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress AwardScarlett Johansson for Her

Award for Emerging Actor or Actressthe entire cast of Gass (Acrid)

Award for Best Technical ContributionKoichi Takahashi for Sebunsu kodo (Seventh Code)

Award for Best ScreenplayTayfun Pirselimoğlu for Ben o değilim (I Am Not Him)

Special MentionCui Jian for Lanse gutou (Blue Sky Bones)


The CinemaXXI International Jury chaired by Larry Clark and composed of Ashim Ahluwalia, Yuri Ancarani, Laila Pakalnina, and Michael Wahrmann, assigned the following awards to the films in the CinemaXXI competition:

CinemaXXI Award for Best Film (reserved for feature-length films)Nepal Forever by Aliona Polunina

CinemaXXI Special Jury Prize (reserved for feature-length films):Birmingemskij ornament 2 (Birmingham Ornament 2by Andrey Silvestrov and Yury Leiderman

CinemaXXI Award for Short Films: Der Unfertige (The Incomplete) by Jan Soldat

SpecialMention CinemaXXI Short FilmsThe Buried Alive Videos by Roee Rosen


The jury headed by Marco Visalberghi and composed of Christian Carmosino, Gerardo Panichi, Giusi Santoro, and Sabrina Varani, assigned the following awards:

Premio Doc It – Prospettive Italia Doc for the Best Italian DocumentaryDal profondo by Valentina Pedicini

Special MentionFuoristrada by Elisa Amoruso


The jury headed by Roberto Faenza and composed of Fausto Brizzi, Carlo Freccero, Alessandra Mammì, Valerio Mieli, Camilla Nesbitt, and Andrea Occhipinti assigned the following awards:

Taodue Golden Camera Award for Best First/Second FilmOut of the Furnace by Scott Cooper

Taodue Award for the Best Emerging ProducerJean Denis Le Dinahet and Sébastien Msika for Il sud è niente


Relying on an electronic system, the Festival enabled the participation of the audience in choosing the winner of the BNL Audience Award for Best Film. The films competing for this award were those in Competition. The audience awarded the:

BNL Audience Award for Best FilmDallas Buyers Club by Jean-Marc Vallée

No more articles