« All News

First Teaser and Official Cast List for ‘Star Wars: Episode VIII’ Arrive as Rian Johnson Begins Production

Written by on February 15, 2016 

Star Wars Episode 8

After recently clearing $2 billion at the global box-office, it’s safe to say Star Wars: The Force Awakens exceeded expectations on the financial side and we even had quite a bit of fun with it. Ahead of a December 2017 release, it’s now time for Rian Johnson to kick off production on Star Wars: Episode VIII and with the news that filming has begun, we have the first brief teaser and some more casting announcements.

Benicio Del Toro, who has long been rumored to play an antagonist, has been confirmed to take part, while the great Laura Dern has joined alongside newcomer Kelly Marie Tran. Check out the press release below, along with a teaser that shows off the return of Luke Skywalker.

Rey took her first steps into a larger world in Star Wars: The Force Awakens and will continue her epic journey with Finn, Poe, and Luke Skywalker in the next chapter of the continuing Star Wars saga, Star Wars: Episode VIII, which began principal photography at Pinewood Studios in London on February 15, 2016.

Star Wars: Episode VIII, which is written and directed by Rian Johnson and continues the storylines introduced in Star Wars: The Force Awakens, welcomes back cast members Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, and Andy Serkis. New cast members will include Academy Award winner Benicio Del Toro, Academy Award nominee Laura Dern, and talented newcomer Kelly Marie Tran.

Star Wars: Episode VIII is produced by Kathleen Kennedy and Ram Bergman and executive produced by J.J. Abrams, Jason McGatlin, and Tom Karnowski. Joining the production crew will be some of the industry’s top talent, including Steve Yedlin (Director of Photography), Bob Ducsay (Editor), Rick Heinrichs (Production Designer), Peter Swords King (Hair and Make-Up Designer), and Mary Vernieu (US Casting Director). They will be joining returning crew members Pippa Anderson (Co-Producer, VP Post Production), Neal Scanlan (Creature & Droid FX Creative Supervisor), Michael Kaplan (Costume Designer), Jamie Wilkinson (Prop Master), Chris Corbould (SFX Supervisor), Rob Inch (Stunt Coordinator), Ben Morris (VFX Supervisor), and Nina Gold (UK Casting Director).

Star Wars: Episode VIII arrives December 15, 2017.

See More: , ,

blog comments powered by Disqus

News More

Trailers More

Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow